How to log messages in imported classes

So I’m quite new with Prefect. I’m getting to know 2.0 and and I have some flows that I’m working on. I have quite a lot of code in functions or classes that I would want to import from external files and use withing flows and tasks. Most of that code is used for data manipulation and occasionally I need to print out certain things. I just cannot seem to be able to figure out how to get that to show in the logs.

As an example I might have a file called helpers.py:

import logging
logging.basicConfig(level=logging.INFO)

def say_hi():
    logging.info('Hi!')

Then in the flow file I would use it like this:

from prefect import flow, get_run_logger
from helpers import say_hi

@flow(name="log-example-flow")
def logger_flow():
    logger = get_run_logger()
    logger.info("Flow level message. Works fine")
    say_hi()

How to get that “Hi!” shown? I would be happy to just replace the standard logger with prefect logger but that doesn’t seem to be possible outside of a flow or task context.

I tried to look into adding extra loggers but didn’t exactly understand if and how it would work in this case.

I noticed that in Prefect 1.0 it seems to be possible to forward the output of stdout to a logger by setting log_stdout=True on the task. Something like that would be totally fine for me if I could just print instead of using the logger but apparently that is not possible in 2.0.

Any guidance on how to achieve this? I hope the explanation was clear enough.

1 Like

Extra loggers is the way to go here, if this doesn’t work for you or you struggle to configure it, LMK

here is an example:

prefect config set PREFECT_LOGGING_EXTRA_LOGGERS="logger1,logger2"

in your case, this would be root logger

Thanks for the tip. Is there any documentation on how this works? I tried to look for but didn’t really find much.

So I tried setting this configuration with the profile that is active where the agent is run: